Confessions of a Pathological Liar

Dear friends and family,

I lied.

I love you all, but I must confess, I lied.

I didn’t go to Uni because I was pressured by my parents and I had no other choice. I didn’t meet Uma Thurman on a train once on a trip in New York, and she didn’t tell me I was pretty. I am not a virgin. Not at all. I am not a straight A student, I am not above average. I am not adopted. I don’t go to dance classes every week, I actually hate to dance, I just thought it made me sound cool. I am not a vegetarian. I don’t constantly argue with my sister, or my mum. In fact our conversations are fairly normal, boring. I’ve never been kicked out of my home. I had drank alcohol before I came to Uni, I just wanted people to think I was a bit different. I do not have bipolar, or at least I’ve never been diagnosed. My favourite colour is actually pink, I am not a tom boy. I’ve never been camping. I do not have family in Australia. My ‘birth parents’ aren’t rich.

There are many things about my life I have lied about. And I can’t even tell you why. These things just blurt out of my mouth as if they have no where else to go, and I can’t take them back.

I do try not to lie. I must tell you it’s hard to keep up with it all. I have apps on my phone to fake conversations, I pretend to have phone calls, and my social media is a mess. I stumble a lot and people start to suspect things and I have to change my story, and it’s just so exhausting.

I mean, that’s not why I’m telling you this.

I’m sorry for all of my lies. I don’t lie about everything and I don’t lie all the time.

Sometimes I lie to fit in. Sometimes it’s to make my life seem more interesting. Sometimes I just want to look normal.

But all you really need to know is, I don’t lie about how much you mean to me. And I am trying hard to not lie to you about anything anymore.

Please consider forgiving me.

All my love,

The REAL Charlotte.

 


Picture credit

One thought on “Confessions of a Pathological Liar

  1. publishingadvisors says:

    This is such a beautiful piece, I love what you’ve done with this letter. It draws the reader in as if unraveling a long story through a series of opposites. This is a very unique style. If you have any interest in working with us, don’t hesitate to make contact.

    Like

Leave a Reply

